If you have landed on this page there is a good chance you have been charged with a crime as a result of attending Bonnaroo, or traveling through one of our well patrolled Tennessee counties en route to Bonnaroo. Often law enforcement will elect to write a citation for the charge instead of making an arrest. Arrests take longer and result in that officer or trooper being unable to patrol for the period of time it takes to make the arrest, fill out reports and drive the person charged to the jail. If you were arrested, it likely means you were charged with a felony. Only with misdemeanor charges may an officer issue a citation. However, some misdemeanor charges could have been charged as felonies if the officer had elected to do so.
Our Tennessee attorneys have handled hundreds of Bonnaroo cases, in Coffee County and all across the state. Having a lawyer before court will ensure your case is resolved appropriately and possibly with one court appearance only – a substantial savings if you are traveling from out of state.
By far, the most frequent charge for Bonnaroo attendees is simple possession. Here is a short list of common offenses. We have also provided information on how to keep the TN conviction off your record.
Simple possession of drugs in Tennessee is a Class A Misdemeanor which is punishable by up to 11 months, 29 days in jail, fines, and court costs. If you have two or more prior convictions, simple possession may be charged as a felony in Tennessee.
The possession of drug paraphernalia is a very broadly worded TN law which is often liberally construed. We have had clients charged with paraphernalia when marijuana was contained in a plastic baggie. The officer unsuccessfully tried to argue the plastic baggie was drug paraphernalia. (Class A Misdemeanor – Maximum Sentence 11 months, 29 days in jail, fines and court costs)
– Possession with Intent to Manufacture, Deliver or Sell
Possession with the intent to manufacture, deliver or sell is often charged in Tennessee when the amount of the drug exceeds certain pre-determined amounts, regardless of whether evidence of intent to resell or distribute is present. Possession of marijuana over 1/2 ounce is often charged as a felony, even if clearly a simple possession situation. (Felony – Classification dependent upon the type of drug and amount – See “What are scheduled drugs?” for more information
In Tennessee, driving under the influence is not limited to alcohol but rather any intoxicant, including properly taken prescription medicines and marijuana. DUI is an enhanceable offense, meaning each prior conviction enhances punishment. Mandatory jail time is included for even a first offense, and the mandatory minimum jail time increases for each prior conviction.
– Disorderly Conduct
Disorderly conduct has a very specific definition however because the name of the offense seems to imply not obeying orders, officer’s sometimes use the charge as a way of punishing someone for not following their orders, regardless of whether the persons’ conduct meets the definition of disorderly conduct. (See: What is, and what is Not, Disorderly Conduct)
Unfortunately, for most situations, those who have received a drug possession charge will be required to come back to Tennessee to resolve the charge. If you would like to keep the charge off your record, it will require multiple court appearances unless you hire an attorney.
Call our defense lawyers today if you would like to discuss your situation. We don’t charge to discuss your situation and hopefully can put your mind at ease while you enjoy Bonnaroo.