There are 3 classifications of misdemeanor criminal offenses in Tennessee.
Class ‘A’ misdemeanors are the most serious, with a maximum jail time punishment of 11 months, 29 days. Class ‘B’ misdemeanors carry a possible sentence of up to 6 months in jail, while class ‘C’ misdemeanors in Tennessee have a maximum jail sentence of 30 days. Many misdemeanors carry a minimum fine and nearly every Tennessee county will require the payment of court costs as part of a case disposition.
The majority of misdemeanor offenses are Class ‘A’ misdemeanors. For example, simple possession of any drug is an ‘A’ misdemeanor in Tennessee. Both domestic assault and simple assault in Tennessee are ‘A’ misdemeanors. It should be noted that certain crimes, including simple possession, may be charged as felonies under certain circumstances.
Examples of class ‘A’ misdemeanors in Tennessee
A few common Class B misdemeanors in Tennessee are:
– Resisting Arrest
Examples of Class C misdemeanors in Tennessee are:
– Criminal Trespass
Our criminal defense lawyers have represented people charged with crimes in nearly every county in Middle Tennessee. Feel free to contact our Tennessee criminal defense lawyers today to discuss your case.