What is Simple Possession in Tennessee?
The law defines Simple Possession in Tennessee as to knowingly possess or casually exchange a controlled substance. Generally, the critical question is whether you possessed the drug for personal use, or rather for re-sell. Simple Possession of any drug in Tennessee is a Class A Misdemeanor. Simple Possession of some types of drugs carry mandatory jail time.
What Happens if I plead guilty to simple possession in Tennessee?
– Permanent drug conviction on your record
– Up to 11 months and 29 days in jail
– Probation and Drug Screens
– Fines up to $2,500.00
– Community Service
– Drug Offender School
– $250 Drug Testing Fee for any agreement under either Pre-Trial or Judicial Diversion
A conviction for any criminal offense, even if it is a misdemeanor, is permanent. A youthful or brief indiscretion can follow you for the rest of your life.
CAN YOU KEEP THIS OFF MY RECORD?
There a number of ways to resolve simple possession charges in Tennessee to keep it off of your record. Pre-Trial or Judicial Diversion are two options. Some Tennessee counties are willing to resolve simple possession citations by either what’s known as a ‘retirement’, which means that after a certain period of time, so long as you stay out of trouble, the charge is dismissed. Other Tennessee counties may allow the completion of public service work and/or drug related classes to have your charge dismissed. Every county, judge and district attorney are different and it is important to speak with an attorney who is familiar with the Tennessee court where you are charged.
HOW DO I KNOW IF I QUALIFY FOR DIVERSION?
Our criminal defense lawyers handle cases with the understanding that all criminal charges are serious. The costs associated with lost wages due to a prior criminal conviction far outweigh the costs of hiring a lawyer, particularly for a charge such as simple possession. If you are charged with a misdemeanor criminal offense in Nashville or any Tennessee county, do not make the mistake of resolving it without first having a criminal defense attorney review your case. Contact our Tennessee lawyers today to discuss the criminal charges you are facing.