Nashville Criminal Attorneys Explain: Domestic Assault in TN

Domestic Assault Law in Tennessee: Who does it apply?

Current or former spouses;

Those who do or have lived together;

Dating Relationships

If you are related by blood or adoption or were formerly related by marriage;

Applies to children of current, former spouses, or children borne of a dating relationship;

What is Domestic Assault in Tennessee?

It is an assault, against a person in one of the previous categories. A person commits assault who:

–          Intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another;

–          Intentionally or knowingly causes another to reasonably fear imminent bodily injury; or

–          Intentionally or knowingly causes physical contact with another and a reasonable person would regard the contact as extremely offensive or provocative.

What is the punishment for Domestic Assault in Tennessee?

Domestic assault is a Class A misdemeanor;

Potential Jail Time: 11 Months, 29 days;

Fines: Maximum fine of $5,000 plus an additional $225 maximum fine to be used for the funding of family violence shelters;

Required treatment, such as the batterer’s intervention program, possible alcohol or drug treatment as well as anger management; and

THE LOSS OF YOUR RIGHT TO POSSESS A FIREARM, FOREVER.

If you have been charged with Domestic Assault, contact our criminal defense attorneys in Nashville today at (615) 829 – 8259 for a free case consultation.

 

 

 

 

 

- Sitemap - Privacy Policy - Find Shipman - Google+