Theft and Shoplifting laws in Tennessee allow for the same act to be charged as either a felony or misdemeanor and are considered “crimes of dishonesty”. In addition to potential jail time, fines and other penalties associated with a conviction, it will most likely cost you a current or future job. Do not plead guilty to any “crime of dishonesty” before consulting with an experienced criminal attorney.
Theft Classifications in Tennessee
Theft under $500 Class A Misdemeanor, punishable by up to 11 months, 29 days in jail, fines, probation, and restitution Theft over $500 Class E Felony Theft over $1,000 Class D Felony Theft over $10,000 Class C Felony Theft over $60,000 Class B Felony
(See Felony Sentencing in Tennessee for information on potential jail time and other penalties)
Specific Tennessee laws aid first time offenders and other appropriate candidates in resolving these cases without having convictions that will be on your record forever. If you have been charged with theft in the Nashville or Middle Tennessee area, always have a Tennessee criminal attorney review your case.