What is a Felony DUI in Tennessee?
A fourth or greater DUI conviction in Tennessee becomes a Class E Felony.
What are the punishments for a Felony DUI in Tennessee?
Conviction for a third DUI offense in Tennessee carries the following potential punishment:
- Minimum 150 days in jail to be served day for day (maximum jail time dependent upon the sentencing range of the offender)
- Maximum $15,000 Fine
- Loss of drivers license for eight (8) years
The above list encompasses only the punishment directly related to the DUI conviction itself. There are many other rights which are also lost when you become a convicted felon, including the loss of the right to own a firearm.
If you are facing a felony DUI, you likely understand the importance of hiring a great DUI attorney. Our DUI Attorneys in Nashville will provide a full factual and legal analysis of the case and fight to obtain the best possible outcome for your DUI charge. If you’ve been charged with felony DUI in Nashville or a surrounding county, contact our Nashville DUI attorneys immediately for a free case evaluation.
Tennessee DUI Law on Felony DUI conviction:
TCA 55 – 10 – 403 (fourth or greater conviction): Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, the fourth or subsequent conviction shall be a Class E felony punishable by a fine of not less than three thousand dollars ($3,000) nor more than fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000); by confinement for not less than one hundred fifty (150) consecutive days, to be served day for day, nor more than the maximum punishment authorized for the appropriate range of a Class E felony; and the court shall prohibit the person from driving a motor vehicle for a period of five (5) years.